2020 Teacher of the Year: The Search is On!--Yellow and white starbursts

Be There when we announce the Winners!

  • Join us for the biggest celebration of the year! All public school and independent school teachers nominated for Teacher of the Year will be honored at the 34th annual Excellence in Education Dinner at the BWI Marriott in Linthicum on Thursday, April 16, 2020. Join us for the biggest celebration of the year and be there when we announce the 2020 Teachers of the Year!

    Purchase Tickets, white text in red box

    Learn more about this event.

Congratulations Semi-Finalists!

  • Fourteen teachers from all levels of the school system were named as semi-finalists for the 2020 Anne Arundel County Public Schools Teacher of the Year:

    • Matthew Bem, a biology teacher at Broadneck High School
    • Lindsay Breach, a fourth-grade teacher at Glendale Elementary School
    • Jaclyn Cockcroft, an art teacher at Bodkin Elementary School
    • Diana Curtis, a strings teacher at Crofton Woods an Odenton elementary schools
    • Emily Davis, a language arts teacher at Brooklyn Park Middle School
    • Mollie Dwyer, a special education teacher at Waugh Chapel Elementary School
    • Tema Encarnacion, an ESOL teacher at Annapolis High School
    • David Fawley, a marine service technology teacher at the Center of Applied Technology – South
    • Briana Gresko, a music teacher at Southern High School
    • Stacy Kearns, an AVID teacher at Severn River Middle School
    • Angela Miller, a second-grade teacher at Shipley’s Choice Elementary School
    • Robert Tompkins, a technology education teacher at South River High School
    • Hope Turner, a language arts teacher at Marley Middle School
    • Lauren Walker, a chorus teacher at Central Middle School

    The following teachers were named semifinalists for Independent Schools Teacher of the Year:

    • Camille Baumann, a science teacher at St. Mary’s High School
    • Christopher Deterding, a math teacher at Annapolis Area Christian School
    • Laraine Olechowski, an art teacher at St. Mary’s Elementary School


Meet our Teachers

  • Red apple in a gold circle next to headshots of Josh Carroll, Alexis Pogonowski, and Iris Crankfield

    Read stories by past AACPS Teacher of the Year winners and nominees that take you inside some of the best classrooms in Anne Arundel County.


  • For questions about the Teacher of the Year selection process or awards ceremony:

    Carol Ann McCurdy
    Director of Partnerships, Development & Marketing

    For questions about the application or submission form:

    Lauren Grey-Hawkins
    Business & Communication Specialist