School System Now Accepting Nominations for 2018 Teacher of the Year

Posted by Melvin Edwards on 10/4/2017

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2018 Anne Arundel County Public Schools Teacher of the Year and the Independent Schools Teacher of the Year awards.

Principals wishing to nominate an outstanding educator at their school should go to for more information and nomination forms. Parents who wish to nominate teachers should contact their child’s principal.

Teacher of the Year nominations are due by 3 p.m. on Thursday, November 2, 2017.

In addition to outstanding teachers, the awards honor local businesses that have forged critical partnerships that directly benefit AACPS’ approximately 82,000 students. Schools that wish to nominate businesses for the Business Partnership Awards should go to Business Partnership Award nominations are due by 3 p.m. on Thursday, November 30, 2017.

Nominees and winners will be recognized at the 32nd annual Excellence in Education awards this spring. Last year, 41 top educators and 21 businesses and organizations were honored at this event. Josh Carroll, AACPS’ 2017 Teacher of the Year, is now a finalist for Maryland State Teacher of the Year. AACPS has had four finalists for the state honor in the last five years.