Return to Headlines

AACPS Visual Arts Educator Recognized by the Maryland Art Education Association

The objectives of the Maryland Art Education Association (MAEA) Awards Program are to recognize and honor excellence in the many outstanding individuals of our state association. These awards provide professional attention and increase public awareness of the importance of quality art education at all levels.


Seven art educators have been recognized with state awards from the MAEA. These educators are recognized for the exemplary commitment and leadership to the field of art education at the state level. Each year MAEA members are invited to nominate educators in several categories. Nominations are adjudicated by an awards committee examining accomplishments and commendations.


49 public school art educators and two administrators have been recognized with district awards from Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Charles County, Howard County, Prince George's County, Washington County, and Worcester County through the MAEA. This recognizes their excellence and service at the local district level. Each year district and independent school supervisors are invited to submit a slate of award winners in the categories of novice, career, emeritus, and administrator.


Since they cannot be honored in person at this time MAEA will be celebrating them on social media on Facebook (@MDARTED), Twitter (@MDartED), and Instagram (@marylandarted). The award recipients will be formally honored by MAEA at an event to be held in 2021, details to follow.


“We are honored to recognize these amazing educators for their service and dedication to their students, schools, and field of art education," said Sherri Fisher, President-Elect “Each of them truly understands the power of art to shape human potential."


A list of educators to be honored with district recognition follows:


State Awards

MARYLAND Elementary Art Educator: Taylor Boren, Baltimore County Public Schools

MARYLAND Secondary Art Educator: Meghann Harris, Baltimore City Public Schools

MARYLAND Preservice Art Educator: McKinley Wallace III, Maryland Institute College of Art

MARYLAND Emeritus Art Educator: Clare O'Malley Grizzard, Baltimore City Public Schools

MARYLAND High Education Educator: Katie Morris, Maryland Institute College of Art

MARYLAND Linda Popp Leadership Award: Dr. Katherine Broadwater, Towson University

MARYLAND Art Educator: Katherine Hess, Montgomery County Public Schools


District Awards:

Anne Arundel County Public Schools

AACPS Career Art Educators of the Year

Denise Peach

Chris Davenport

Jordyn Roemer


AACPS Novice Art Educators of the Year

Emily Worden

Kaitlyn Coriell

Emily High