Overview

  • Elementary students walking in their school hallway, away from the camera AACPS strives to assist students with the highest level of achievement while maintaining a safe and orderly learning environment in our schools. At AACPS, we believe students deserve a safe, supportive and orderly learning environment. AACPS encourages appropriate behaviors by teaching, guiding, directing, and providing opportunities for new learning occurances. Opportunities are created for students to practice and succeed in making responsible and effective choices in order to reach their academic potential and contribute to the school community.

    Safe and Orderly Schools provides a process for addressing serious infractions as well as offers support through programs that help students and parents deal with the following issues:

    • Investigating all cases of serious student misbehavior in which the school principal requests an extended suspension or expulsion 
    • Assuring equitable and consistent enforcement of polices and regulations according to the AACPS Code of Student Conduct 
    • Providing consultative services to administrators, staff, parents, and central office personnel regarding matters of student safety and discipline
    • Ensuring parent, student and community collaboration on all department efforts to promote academic achievement and safe and orderly environments
    • Facilitating Behavioral Support Programs for students and parents
    • Assisting with the readmission process

    Save

    Save

    Save

Contacts

  • Alice L. Swift
    Director
    aswift@aacps.org
    410-222-5288

    Amanda Keller
    Sr. Assistant to the Director
    akeller@aacps.org
    410-222-5288

    Dr. Shawn Ashworth
    Program Specialist
    sashworth@aacps.org
    410-266-3547

    Wade Blair
    Special Assistant
    (Annapolis, Arundel, South River, & Southern Clusters)
    wblair@aacps.org
    410-222-5289

    Welton Lilley
    Special Assistant
    (Chesapeake, Glen Burnie, Meade, & Severna Park Clusters)
    wlilley@aacps.org
    410-222-5281 ext. 2

    Dr. Lauren Ward-Allen
    Special Assistant
    (Broadneck, Northeast, Old Mill, & North County Clusters)
    lward-allen@aacps.org
    410-222-5281 ext. 1

    Sandra Leech
    Associate Administrative Assistant
    sleech@aacps.org
    410-222-5389

    Delmar Chase
    Program Administrator
    Charles L. Leisure Behavioral
    Support Programs (CLLBSP)
    (ADP, ATUP, RAP, and BMBP)
    dcchase@aacps.org
    410-562-0796