Overview

  • Elementary students walking in their school hallway, away from the cameraAACPS strives to assist all students in reaching high levels of academic achievement while maintaining a safe and supportive learning environment. AACPS encourages appropriate behaviors by teaching, guiding, directing, and providing opportunities for new learning occurrences. Opportunities are created for students to succeed in making responsible and effective choices to reach their academic potential and contribute to the school community.

    Safe and Orderly Schools assists and supports students, parents, and school administrators in the following ways:

    • Assure equitable and consistent enforcement of policies and regulations according to the AACPS Student Code of Conduct 
    • Provide support services to students, parents, and school administrators regarding matters of student safety and discipline
    • Investigate all cases of major student incidents in which the principal requests an extended suspension or expulsion

    Safe and Orderly Schools assists and supports students, parents, and the community in the following ways:

    • Ensure parent, student and community collaboration in an effort to promote academic achievement and safe and supportive environments
    • Facilitate behavioral support programs for students and parents
    • Assist with the readmission process

    Save

    Save

    Save

Contacts

  • Alice L. Swift
    Director
    aswift@aacps.org
    410-222-5288

    Amanda Keller
    Sr. Assistant to the Director
    akeller@aacps.org
    410-222-5288

    Dr. Shawn Ashworth
    Program Specialist
    sashworth@aacps.org
    410-266-3547

    Wade Blair
    Special Assistant
    (Annapolis, Arundel, South River, & Southern Clusters)
    wblair@aacps.org
    410-222-5289

    Welton Lilley
    Special Assistant
    (Chesapeake, Glen Burnie, Meade, & Severna Park Clusters)
    wlilley@aacps.org
    410-222-5281 ext. 1

    Dr. Lauren Ward-Allen
    Special Assistant
    (Broadneck, Northeast, Old Mill, & North County Clusters)
    lward-allen@aacps.org
    410-222-5281 ext. 2

    Sandra Leech
    Associate Administrative Assistant
    sleech@aacps.org
    410-222-5389

    Delmar Chase
    Program Administrator
    Charles L. Leisure Behavioral
    Support Programs (CLLBSP)
    (ADP, ATUP, RAP, and BMBP)
    dcchase@aacps.org
    410-562-0796