Congratulations Teresa Beilstein, 2019-2020 Maryland Teacher of the Year; with headshot of Ms. Beilstein

Teresa Beilstein Name 2019-2020 Maryland Teacher of the Year!

  • South Shore Elementary School third grade teacher Teresa Beilstein was named the 2019-2020 Maryland Teacher of the Year by the Maryland State Department of Education.  Beilstein beat out six other finalists to become Anne Arundel County Public Schools’ second Maryland Teacher of the Year in three years. Josh Carroll of South River High School won the award in 2017-2018.

    “This profession is truly an honor,” Beilstein said moments after the announcement was made. “It is the intersection of my passion and purpose. I am so lucky to have a career that fulfills me as a person. It’s more than I could ever ask for and I’m honored to represent my colleagues across the state.” Read the full press release.


    Who Will Be Our Next Teacher of the Year? 

    We are looking for the next teacher to represent Anne Arundel County as 2020 Teacher of the Year. The deadline to nominate an educator was Monday, October 28, 2019 but check back soon to see this year's list of public and independent school nominees. 

    The complete list of 2020 honorees will be aviable in mid-November. 2020 Semi-Finalists will be announced in December. 

Meet our Teachers

  • Red apple in a gold circle next to headshots of Josh Carroll, Alexis Pogonowski, and Iris Crankfield

    Read stories by past AACPS Teacher of the Year winners and nominees that take you inside some of the best classrooms in Anne Arundel County.


  • For questions about the Teacher of the Year selection process or awards ceremony:

    Carol Ann McCurdy
    Director of Partnerships, Development & Marketing

    For questions about the application or submission form:

    Lauren Grey-Hawkins
    Business & Communication Specialist