Middle School/Reading/English/Integrated Literacy

  • female waving on books titled Secondary reading english and integrated literacyThe Middle School Reading/ English/ Integrated Literacy (SREIL) classroom is a place where students engage in diverse literary experiences as a writer, reader, thinker and talker. All AACPS middle school students have multiple opportunities to discuss, disagree, challenge, collaborate, and learn about diverse perspectives using a variety of literacy reflective practices.

    As a 21st century literacy learner, students will read, write, think critically, and express their thoughts using a variety of best practice models. Through the implementation of the blended learning station rotation model and the “Write Way” Writer’s workshop, middle school ELA students will encounter real-world literacy experiences that are globally impactful and relevant to their life.

    Engaging instruction, culturally diverse materials, and specified student support through differentiation is a key component in every middle school ELA classroom. Creating a middle school literacy climate where all students have a voice, choice, and a safe and respectful space to express their thoughts will allow our students to have a meaningful and authentic literacy experience. 

    Save

    Save

    Save

Contacts

  • female and male reading near three books, glasses, SREIL Resource Team

    Autumn "AB" Baltimore
    abaltimore@aacps.org  
    Coordinator of SREIL serving Marley Middle School  

    Kristen Anderson
    klanderson@aacps.org  
    Teacher Specialist serving MacArthur, Old Mill North & Severna Park Middle Schools

    Lauren Cornwell
    lmcornwell@aacps.org
    Teacher Specialist serving Brooklyn Park, Corkran, Lindale & Old Mill South Middle Schools

    Mandi Quinn
    mnquinn@aacps.org
    Resource Teacher serving Bates, Chesapeake Bay, Corkran, Magothy River & Severn River Middle Schools

    Lona Trulove
    ltrulove@aacps.org
    Resource Teacher serving Arundel, Central, Southern, Crofton & Meade Middle Schools

    Michelle Jones
    myjones@aacps.org
    Administrative Assistant
    410-222-5456
    Fax: 410-222-5637

  • Save The Date: The 35th Annual AACPS Spelling Bee is March 11, 2023. All school winners will participate in the district wide literacy event.

    National Bee Spelling with red stars

    Comments (-1)