Overview

  • Title I Log with Graduate image on books and motto, The Foundation of Success

    Title I, Part A is contained in the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), which was signed by President Obama on December 10, 2015. This legislation reauthorizes the 50-year-old Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA). Title I, Part A is a federal program that provides financial assistance to local school systems and schools with high percentages of economically disadvantaged children to support academic achievement. All twenty-four local education agencies in Maryland receive Title I funds. These funds provide additional academic support and learning opportunities to help low-achieving children who attend Title I schools master challenging curricula and meet state standards. Title I funds support extra instruction in reading and mathematics, additional teachers, materials of instruction, as well as after-school and summer programs to extend and reinforce the regular school curriculum.

     

    By law, schools are required to:

    • develop Home School-Parent compacts
    • develop a school level Parent & Family Engagement Plan
    • host Title I Parent input meetings
    • if requested, provide the teacher's instructional qualifications

     

    District Level Parent & Family Engagement Plan

     

    Plan de Participación de Padres y Familias a nivel de distrito

     

    Title I Law  

    Save

Upcoming Events

  • There are no upcoming events to display.

View Calendar

Title I Office

  • Compensatory Education Programs (Title I)
    410-222-5444

    Sheri Anderson
    Sr. Program Manager, Compensatory Education Programs
    slanderson4@aacps.org

    Sarah Bell
    Program Manager, Compensatory Education Programs
    sabell1@aacps.org

    Theresa Gregory
    Program Manager, Compensatory Education Programs
    tgregory@aacps.org

    Stacey Witte
    Parent & Family Engagement Specialist, Compensatory Education Programs
    switte@aacps.org

    Amy Willmarth
    Budget Technician, Compensatory Education Programs
    awillmarth@aacps.org

    Cathi Mellos
    Budget Technician, Compensatory Education Programs
    cmellos@aacps.org

    Cecelia Berry
    Adminstrative Technician, Compensatory Education Programs
    cberry@aacps.org