Ready to learn more about our programs?

AACPS belongs to the following organizations:

  • National Dance Education Organization -
    NDEO focuses on research in dance education, methods of teaching dance, and information about dance programs from kindergarten through university level throughout the country. NEDO holds an annual national conference on dance education, has an online library of dance literature and research, and publishes an e-newsletter and a quarterly journal.

    Maryland Council for Dance -
    MCD focuses on service to dance and dance education, publishes a bi-monthly state newsletter and e-dance updates, holds an annual 3-day dance festival, awards annual dance scholarships, and presents a Service Award (awarded annually when there is a qualified candidate).

    Voluntary State Curriculum -
    State curriculum establishing minimum standards for dance from pre-kindergarten through grade 8.

    Maryland Dance Education Association (MDEA) -
    MDEA serves Dance educators and elevates the subject of Dance in the State of Maryland as a creative process, discipline, and performing art that informs the human experience in a variety of environments including, but not limited to, dance studios, K-12 schools, colleges, universities, recreational and community centers.

    AACPS teachers who have been awarded MAHPERD Dance Teacher of the Year:
    Judi Fey, Patti DeMarco, Dianne Rosso, Patty Jepson, Joanne Markiewicz, Chase Haglund, Jillian Murphy