• Service Learning at Annapolis High School

    Picture of AHS mascot - panther

     

    Service Learning at Annapolis High School includes 40 hours of curricular integrated action. Your student will engage will plan, act, and reflect specifically through course noted below to ensure this graduation requirement is completed. For additional school information on Service Learning, please contact Sherri Billheimer at sbillheimer@aacps.org.

     

    • U.S. Government (Grades 9/11):10 hours
    • Health (Grades 9/10): 10 hours
    • Science (Grade 9): 10 hours
    • English (Grade 11): 10 hours

    In addition to the course implementation of Service Learning noted above, students can further their community response through Service Clubs and Organizations.  At Annapolis High School this includes:

    1. Key Club
    • Marlene Ramey (mramey@aacps.org) and Carol Ferdock (cferdock@aacps.org)
      • Key Club is all about service projects starting in our school and community and extending to global service initiatives. In a typical year Key Club does at least 10 - 12 service projects.
        1. Special Projects Include: Unicef Vaccinations; Lighthouse Shelter's Thanksgiving Baskets; made dog toys for the Senior Dog Sanctuary in Severn, MD; made fleece scarves for the homeless through Linda's Legacy, collected baby items for the Panther Pantry, written cheerful letters to isolated seniors at a local nursing home; toy collections for disadvantaged children.
    1. Best Buddies
    • Heather Zeitlin (hzeitlin@AACPS.org) and Laura Platania (lplatania@aacps.org)
      • Special Projects Include: "Spread the Word to End the Sord"; Best Buddies Walk in the Spring

     

    1. Wellness Club
    • Mary Kay Connerton mconnerton@aacps.org
      • Special Projects Include:: Buddy Bowl; ReNew You; Annapolis Runs for Love 5K
    1. Student Government Association (SGA)
    • Mike Zick - mzick@aacps.org
      • School beautification/environmental planting; blood drives; Panther Pantry collaboration (food bank at Annapolis High); Polar Bear Plunge (benefits Special Olympics).
    1. Interact
    1. One Love