Student Member of the Board (SMOB)

  • MD Educ Code § 3-2A-05 (2019)


    Anne Arundel County's student member on the Board of Education is the only one in the nation on a local board who has full voting rights. The SMOB is elected by members of the Chesapeake Regional Association of Student Councils (CRASC) and appointed by the Governor. The SMOB's yearly term begins on July 1 and ends on June 30. 

    The nomination process begins in February of each year and concludes with an election in April. 


    History of the Student Member of the Board




    Comments (-1)