• AVID Proven Achievement. Lifelong Advantage. Figure of a person throwing a graduation cap in the air. Program Overview

    AVID is a college and career preparatory program offered to students in grades 9 through 12 at Broadneck High School. Interested students apply and may be accepted into the AVID program based on the AVID criteria and available space. Due to the required focus of college preparation, students who have not been in AVID as an underclassman are not typically accepted into the program in grade 12.

    AVID is designed to provide academic support to students with the potential to go on to higher education, but do not have the necessary supports to do so. The AVID elective helps to prepare them for eligibility and acceptance to four year colleges and universities. During the AVID elective, students focus on writing, inquiry, collaboration, organization, and reading (WICOR) while engaging in higher level thinking in addition to college and career exploration.


    Accolades

    • AVID seniors were offered over 1 million dollars in scholarships and grants each year since 2014
      • AVID class of 2014 - 1.2 million dollars 
      • AVID class of 2015 - 1.37 million dollars 
      • AVID class of 2016 - 2.1 million dollars
      • AVID class of 2017 - 2.3 million dollars
      • AVID class of 2018 - 2.7 million dollars
      • AVID class of 2019 - 3.6 million dollars
    • Currently there are 245 students in the AVID program.

    If you were not in middle school AVID but want to join AVID in high school, please contact your school counselor or Mrs. Casey, Broadneck HS Site Coordinator.

     

    Find out more about AVID at Broadneck here!

     

Contacts

  • Broadneck Senior High School
    1265 Green Holly Drive
    Annapolis,MD 21409

    410-757-1300 ext. 404

    James Gondak
    jgondak@aacps.org
    AVID Counselor

    Diane Casey
    dcasey@aacps.org
    AVID Site Coordinator
    AVID 11 & 12 Elective Teacher

    Evelyn Dallanegra
    edallanegra@aacps.org
    AVID 9 Elective Teacher

    Rachel Owens
    reowens@aacps.org
    AVID 10 Elective Teacher

    Zachary Vrhovac
    zvrhovac@aacps.org 
    AVID 9 Elective Teacher

    Christina Yeatman
    cyeatman@aacps.org
    AVID 10 Elective Teacher

  • There are no upcoming events to display.

View Calendar