Who Can Be Nominated?

  • The Annual Excellence in Education Teacher of the Year Award honors outstanding public and independent school teachers in Anne Arundel County. 

    Nominees must:

    • Have completed five years of teaching in AACPS (or Anne Arundel County, for Independent School nominees) 
    • Remain as a teacher during the year of tenure as AACPS Teacher of the Year

    Only one nomination per school will be accepted. Principals and schools may set their own criteria for what "excellence in education" looks like in their building. Colleagues, parents, or other community members who would like to nominate an educator should speak with the school's principal.

    Is there an outstanding teacher at your school that you are ready to recognize? Learn more about the Teacher of the Year Application process. 

Meet our Teachers

  • Excellence in Education Apple Logo, Jing Dai, Josh Carroll, Teresa Beilstein

    Read stories by past AACPS Teacher of the Year winners and nominees that take you inside some of the best classrooms in Anne Arundel County.



                      Teacher of the Year logo

    For questions about the Teacher of the Year selection process or awards ceremony:

    Meghan Willmore
    Marketing & Outreach Specialist, Partnerships, Development & Marketing