2014 Teacher of the Year



Degrees and Certifications:

Christina Houstian

Social Studies Teacher, Broadneck High School

"Whether students are in kindergarten or working toward a doctorate in graduate school, they need to engage, to be creative and become deeply involved in what they are learning.  They need to be able ask questions, find answers, and they need to learn how to fall down and get right back up again.  Most of all, our students deserve a teacher who believes in them; a teacher who expects them to struggle, to embrace challenges, and to learn more than they ever thought themselves capable of learning."

Press release

Ms.Houstian shares her story with the Faces of AACPS.

2014 Semi-Finalists

    • Rebecca Bittman, North County High School
    • Julie Ciotola, Glendale Elementary School
    • Rachel Fitzgerald, Marley Middle School
    • Susan Grieve, Folger McKinsey Elementary School
    • Jessica Howell, Manor View Elementary School
    • Stacy Kearns, Corkran Middle School
    • Dianne Lloyd, Davidsonville Elementary School
    • Suzanne MacLeod, Linthicum Elementary School
    • Robert Mauro, Lindale Middle School
    • Amy Mueller, Marley Elementary School
    • Susan Marie Sheehy, Millersville Elementary School
    • Jennifer Swiech, Meade Middle School
    • Stacey Walczak, Seven Oaks Elementary School
    • Brad Wray, Arundel High School

2014 Nominees

    • Lyniper Al-Os, Annapolis High School
    • Kenneth Baker, Bodkin Elementary School
    • Michelle April Ballenger, Georgetown East Elementary School
    • Jane Bounelis, Arnold Elementary School
    • Brad Bower, Crofton Middle School
    • Alyson Bradford, Odenton Elementary School
    • Shannon Brown, Jones Elementary School
    • Julie Castillo, Lothian Elementary School
    • Jamie Chestnut, Oakwood Elementary School
    • David A. Christopher, Old Mill Middle School North
    • Laura Christopher, Brooklyn Park Elementary School
    • Carol Cox, George T. Cromwell Elementary School
    • Michael Cservek, Severna Park Middle School
    • Allison Ellis, Glen Burnie High School
    • Damian Ferragamo, Old Mill High School
    • Jennifer Figueroa, Chesapeake High School
    • Joanne Francis, Severn River Middle School
    • Vanessa Gilbert, Freetown Elementary School
    • Lindsey Hammond, Quarterfield Elementary School
    • Rose Catharine Hammond, Ruth Parker Eason Special School
    • Linsey Haughton, Windsor Farm Elementary School
    • Elizabeth Hewitt, Jessup Elementary School
    • Eileen Keck, Richard Henry Lee Elementary School
    • Rachel Long, Wiley H. Bates Middle School
    • Jill Manning, Mary Moss Academy
    • Amanda Mays, Lake Shore Elementary School
    • Cynthia McNeel Jacoby, Severna Park Elementary School
    • Patricia Medeiros, Tracey’s Elementary School
    • Jennifer Suzanne Mobley, Mayo Elementary School
    • Jane Newton, Southern Middle School
    • Jessica Nolan, Frank Hebron-Harman Elementary School
    • Melissa Norwood, Southern High School
    • Rebecca Pope, Crofton Elementary School
    • Colette Preis, Central Special School
    • Benjamin Thompson, George Fox Middle School
    • Sherise Webb, North Glen Elementary School
    • Joshua Webster, Solley Elementary School
    • Jacqueline Wilford, Northeast High School

2014 excellence in education program

If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.