Grades 3-5 Literacy Blocks

3-5 Literacy Blocks

Grades 3-5 Literacy

  • AACPS provides students literacy instruction aligned with the science of reading using Amplify Core Knowledge Language Arts (CKLA). CKLA is built on the science of how kids learn to read. In grades 3–5, students start to master the basic skills of reading, further opening up their worlds.


    Integrated Knowledge Icon 

    Integrated Knowledge

    Lessons begin to combine skills and knowledge with increasingly complex texts, close reading, and a greater writing emphasis. Students start to use their skills to go on their own independent reading adventures.