Anne Arundel
County Public Schools

 Home | Contact Us

QuickMenu Save Document

National and Local Blue Ribbon Schools
Green Schools, Recycling program
School Links

Frequently Visited
About AACPS 
Financial Fraud, Waste or Abuse Hotline

5 Finalists Vie For County Public School Teacher Of The Year Honor

Superintendent Dr. Kevin M. Maxwell joined Board of Education President Tricia Johnson and Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce President Bob Burdon Thursday in surprising five outstanding teachers who are finalists for Teacher of the Year honors.

The educators were chosen from a pool of 37 public school teachers nominated by their peers. The teachers, along with five private school teachers, will be honored at the 21st annual Excellence In Education Awards ceremony April 26 at the BWI Marriott hotel in Linthicum. The event is hosted annually by the Chamber in conjunction with Anne Arundel County Public Schools and is sponsored by Comcast.

The public school finalists are:

  • Alicia Appel, Southern High School

  • Marie Fries, Ruth Parker Eason School

  • Sandra LePori-Myers, Northeast High School

  • Charmain Sutherland, Severn Elementary School

  • Debra Witt, Lake Shore Elementary School

Two finalists for the Private School Teacher of the Year also have been announced by the Chamber. They are:

  • Katherine Haas, The Key School
  • Kathleen Fowler, The Summit School

The seven finalists will be interviewed by a nine-member panel made up of educators, administrators, students and business leaders. The public school Teacher of the Year will represent Anne Arundel County at the state Teacher of the Year competition later this year.

Also to be honored at the April 26 banquet are 32 public school and three private school nominees. They are:

  • Heidi Beall, Piney Orchard Elementary School

  • June Beard, Severna Park High School

  • Elizabeth Boone, Severna Park Middle School

  • Elaine Boothby, South River High School

  • Christopher Collins, Oak Hill Elementary School

  • Lori Darnall, Old Mill Middle School South

  • Susie Dickey, Glen Burnie High School

  • Daniel Fluharty, North County High School

  • Karen Garczynski, Hillsmere Elementary School

  • Lydia Gonzalez, Woodside Elementary School

  • Kristen Kyser, Wiley H. Bates Middle School

  • James Loach, Wiley H. Bates Middle School

  • Michelle Magee, Overlook Elementary School

  • Carol Maid, George Fox Middle School

  • Catherine Mitchell, Freetown Elementary School 

  • Cary Moeller, Windsor Farm Elementary School

  • Sonya Muhitch, Belvedere Elementary School

  • Jason Muir, Quarterfield Elementary School

  • Sheila Norris, Tyler Heights Elementary School

  • Robin Parker, Pershing Hill Elementary School

  • Jennifer Petrin, Old Mill High School

  • Sarah Poole, Arundel High School

  • Linda Poole, North County High School

  • Lisa Rose, Davidsonville Elementary School

  • Valerie Smith, Woodside Elementary School

  • Cynthia Sowells, Arnold Elementary School

  • Erin Sullivan, Glen Burnie High School

  • Deborah Tanner, Sunset Elementary School

  • Michael Tayman, Severn River Middle School

  • Kevin Valenti, Quarterfield Elementary School

  • Susan Wallis, Brock Bridge Elementary School

  • Meagan Waters, Southgate Elementary School

  • Donna Davis, St. Anne’s Day School

  • Jonnie Stanton Friedman, Chesapeake Academy

  • Karen Miletich, St. Andrew’s United Methodist Day School